Arie E. Kaufman (Project Director)

Arie E. Kaufman is a Distinguished Professor and Chair of the Computer Science Department, the Director of the Center of Visual Computing (CVC), the Chief Scientist of the Center of Excellence in Wireless and Information Technology (CEWIT) , and a Distinguished Professor of Radiology at the State University of New York at Stony Brook. (SBU). He joined the faculty at SBU in 1985 and was appointed Chair in 1999. He is a Fellow of IEEE, a Fellow of ACM, and the recipient of the IEEE Visualization Career Award (2005) as well as numerous other awards. He was the founding Editor-in-Chief of the IEEE Transaction on Visualization and Computer Graphics (TVCG), 1995-1998.

Personal Web Page

Klaus Mueller

Klaus Mueller professor in the Computer Science Department at Stony Brook University, where he also holds co-appointments in the Biomedical Engineering and Radiology Departments. He is presently the chair of the computer science department at SUNY Korea – the first US university on Korean soil. He received an MS in biomedical engineering and a PhD in computer science, both from The Ohio State University.

Personal Web Page

Hong Qin

Professor Hong Qin is a Full Professor (with tenure) of Computer Science in Department of Computer Science at State University of New York at Stony Brook (Stony Brook University), where he is also a member of SUNYSB’s Center for Visual Computing. He received his B.S. (1986) degree and his M.S. degree (1989) in Computer Science from Peking University in Beijing, China. He received his Ph.D. (1995) degree in Computer Science from the University of Toronto.

Personal Web Page

Dimitris Samaras

Associate Professor, Director Image Analysis Lab, Department of Computer Science

Personal Web Page

Amitabh Varshney

Amitabh Varshney is the Director of the Institute for Advanced Computer Studies (UMIACS) and Professor of Computer Science at the University of Maryland at College Park. He received a B. Tech. in Computer Science from the Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi in 1989 and a M.S. and Ph.D. in Computer Science from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill in 1991 and 1994. During 1994 – 2000, he was an Assistant Professor in the Department of Computer Science at the State University of New York at Stony Brook.

Personal Web Page


Charilaos Papadopoulos

Charilaos “Harris” Papadopoulos is a PhD candidate and graduate research assistant at the Department of Computer Science of Stony Brook University. He completed his Bachelor’s in Informatics at the Athens University of Economics and Business in 2009. During his time at AUEB, he conducted research with Prof. Georgios Papaioannou on real time rendering techniques. He joined Stony Brook in 2009 and has since been working for the Center for Visual Computing under Prof. Arie E. Kaufman. In the Summers of 2011 and 2012 he interned at Microsoft as a Software Development Engineer and Program Manager. His research interests include Computer Graphics, Visualization, Virtual Reality and Human-Computer Interaction.

Personal Web Page

Kaloian Petkov

Kaloian Petkov received the BA degree in computer science and mathematics from Lake Forest College in 2006. He is currently working toward the PhD degree in computer science at Stony Brook University. His research focuses on computer graphics, volume rendering, natural phenomena modeling and visualization, and general-purpose computing on graphics hardware.

Personal Web Page


Margaret (Meg) Schedel

Margaret Schedel is a composer and cellist specializing in the creation/performance of ferociously interactive media. She contributed a chapter to the Cambridge Companion to Electronic Music and she is a joint author of Electronic Music. Currently she is working on an issue of Organised Sound on sonification. Her research focuses on gesture in music, and the sustainability of technology in art. As an Assistant Professor of Music at Stony Brook University, she serves as Co-Director of Computer Music and is a core faculty member of cDACT.

She holds a certificate in Deep Listening, and a DMA in Music Composition from the University of Cincinnati. In 2010 she co-chaired the ICMC and in 2011 she co-chaired the Electro-Acoustic Music Studies Network Conference.


Daniel Weymouth

Daniel A. Weymouth’s work has been described as “power-color” music. As far as “color” goes, he is a confessed lover of sound(s) — just about any kind of sound. This has led to a fascination with electroacoustic music, and experience ranging from a summer spent at Stanford’s CCRMA (Center for Computer Research in Music and Acoustics) to two years in Paris working at two computer-music facilities, Pierre Boulez’s IRCAM and Iannis Xenakis’ CEMAMu. The “power” half, along with other aspects — the music’s compact scale, density and pace, although probably not its harmonic language — most likely come from his ten years spent as an itinerant musician on the road, playing jazz, rock, disco (!), R&B and funk in clubs, concerts and studios. He currently plays keyboards in the Claudia Jacobs Band.

He has composed for a wide variety of ensembles, using both standard and electronic instruments, including computer-interactive ones. He is a founding member of NAME (New American Music in Europe) and has been a Composer-in-Residence at Christopher Newport University, the University of Missouri, Kansas City and several times at the Lüneburg, Germany, Internationalen Studienwoche für zeitgenössische Musik. Commissions have come from the Lüneburg New Music Ensemble, the Ensemble des Deux Mondes, the San Francisco Contemporary Music Players, the Stony Brook Contemporary Chamber Players, the Guild Trio and Duo Diorama, as well as numerous performers, theaters and dance companies; grants from Meet the Composer and ASCAP. His compositions have been performed throughout Europe, Asia, Canada and the United States and appear on the SEAMUS, Bridge and New World Record labels as well as with MIT Press (as part of a CD-ROM).

Since 1989, he has been on the Composition faculty at the State University of New York at Stony Brook, where he is has served as Chair of the Music Department, and is currently the Director of cDACT, the Consortium for Digital Arts, Culture and Technology.